it’s not easy.

Marriage, it is beautiful but it is most definitely a challenge. 

I am strong-willed and like for everything to be done in the way I think they should be . There are, of course, many pros and cons that come along with that. Sebastian, on the other hand, is easy-going and relaxed. I admire those qualities and often wish that they would rub off on me.

Everyone is different and everyone has their own stories, so take this how you will. I have learned very fast that compromise is huge within our own marriage. There are many days when the stress of work or conflicts make either one of us a bear to deal with. Our schedules vary and are never on the same page which makes quality time together almost impossible. The adjustment of moving five hours from the only home I have ever known has taken a huge toll on me. I have often let it get the best of me. He sees that and lets me cope in ways that I know how.

We are a team. We have been since the beginning of our relationship a few years ago but when we signed the piece of paper that had the word Matrimony along the top, it took it all to another level. We mess up, both of us. We say the wrong words and maybe we do not always act in the best interest of the other. We are human and mistakes most certainly happen (do not let anyone tell you otherwise).  We pick each other up and knock the dust off because at the end of the day, I am his and he is mine.  That, my friends, is all that matters.

In the words of Sebastian, “No marriage is all sunshine but two people can share an umbrella and survive the storm together.”

One comment

  1. kelsagibson · October 9, 2015

    Beautifully written

    Like

Leave a Reply

